Skip to content

Pluck vs Honeydew: Recipe App Alternative with AI Video Extraction

Honeydew is one of the strongest recipe apps out there. It imports from TikTok, YouTube, Instagram Reels and Facebook Reels using the video's audio transcript, has an AI assistant, an AI meal planner, household sharing for up to 6 people, nutrition and 11 languages. Pluck and Honeydew overlap more than they differ, so here are the real differences: what each reads from a video, how the assistant fits into cooking, and price.

Feature comparison

Feature Pluck Honeydew
Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube Yes Yes (Plus)
Video extraction method Frames, on-screen text, audio and caption together Audio transcript (frames not stated)
Photo carousels as one recipe Yes (Instagram, TikTok) Not stated
Photo / image extraction Yes (cookbooks, handwriting, screenshots) Yes (cookbook photos, screenshots; Plus)
AI cooking assistant Yes, inside cook mode per step (paid plans) Yes (AI chat)
Cook mode Yes (step timers, ingredients per step) Yes (hands-free)
Meal planning Yes (weekly; free: current week) Yes (weekly or monthly)
Plans the week for you Fill my week, from your own recipes (Plus and Pro) AI meal planner (recipe source not stated)
Grocery list Yes (merged, sorted by aisle, shared with up to 5 people) Yes (by section)
Cook from what you have "What can I cook?" search (free) and pantry scan from a photo Pantry and ingredient search; Pantry Mode (photo) per its release notes
Household sharing Grocery list (with up to 5 others) Yes (up to 6 people)
Nutrition No Yes (calories, macros)
Import from other apps Paprika, Mela, Crouton, CopyMeThat, JSON-LD Not stated
Offline access Yes Yes
App languages 6 11
Platforms iOS, Android iOS, Android, Chrome extension
Price Free; paid plans from $2.99/mo ($23.99/yr) Free tier; Plus $6.99/mo or $39.99/yr

Where Honeydew falls short

Hears the video, may miss what's on screen

Honeydew's import works from the video's audio transcript, which catches spoken quantities. It doesn't say it reads the frames. Many TikTok and Instagram recipes are set to music with the amounts as text overlays; that's where reading the frames matters.

Social and photo import need Plus

On Honeydew, importing from social apps, photos and screenshots is part of Honeydew Plus ($6.99/month or $39.99/year). Pluck's free plan includes video and photo extraction (3 a month), and paid plans start at $2.99/month.

The assistant lives outside the step

Honeydew's AI chat and recipe editor are genuinely useful. Pluck puts its assistant inside cook mode: "Ask about this step" knows which step you're on, and the answer can be applied to your saved recipe.

What Pluck does differently

Frames and on-screen text as well as audio

Pluck watches the frames, reads on-screen text, listens to the narration and reads the caption together, so a silent video with text overlays works as well as a talking one. Photo carousels come out as one recipe.

Cheaper way in

Pluck's Light plan is $2.99/month or $23.99/year, AI cooking assistant included. Honeydew Plus is $6.99/month or $39.99/year.

Imports your old recipe app

Coming from Paprika, Mela, Crouton or CopyMeThat? Pluck imports their export files directly, plus any schema.org JSON-LD file. How to switch recipe apps.

Frequently asked questions

Is Pluck better than Honeydew for saving recipes?

They're close. Both import from TikTok, Instagram, Facebook and YouTube and both read the video's audio. Pluck also reads frames and on-screen text, which matters for silent, text-overlay videos and carousels. Honeydew is ahead on nutrition and languages, and its household sharing covers the meal plan as well as the grocery list.

How does Honeydew compare to Pluck for TikTok recipes?

Honeydew uses the video's audio transcript, so spoken recipes come through. Pluck uses the audio too, and also reads the frames and on-screen text. On a video where the quantities appear only as text on screen, Pluck has the edge.

Does Honeydew have an AI cooking assistant like Pluck?

Yes. Honeydew has an AI assistant chat, an AI recipe editor and substitutions. Pluck's assistant is built into cook mode ("Ask about this step") and knows the step you're on; it's available on Pluck's paid plans from $2.99/month.

Can I share my meal plan with my household?

In Honeydew, yes, with up to 6 people. In Pluck the meal plan is personal, but the grocery list built from it can be shared with up to 5 other people, who all add and tick off items live. You can also share a recipe as a link anyone can open.

Can I use both Pluck and Honeydew?

Sure. Try both on the videos you actually save and keep the one whose recipes come out right. Pluck's free plan includes 3 extractions a month.

Read our in-depth Pluck vs Honeydew comparison.

Related reading: Best Recipe Apps 2026, How recipe apps compare, Pluck vs ReciMe, and Pluck vs Flavorish.

Ready for the recipe app that reads the whole video?

Available on iOS and Android. Download Pluck free today.

Comparing options? Tell us what you care about. We prioritize based on what real users need.

Try our free web recipe extractor - no app needed.