Best Recipe Apps in 2026
We compared 17 apps on how they import recipes (social media, video, photos, websites), what they do once a recipe is saved (meal planning, grocery lists, cook mode), languages and price. Many apps now import from TikTok and Instagram, so the real question is what they read from a post and what you can do with the recipe afterwards. Thirteen are recipe apps; four are the apps people plan and shop with (AnyList, Plan to Eat, Samsung Food and Bring!), added in October 2026. Facts checked against each app's store listing and help pages in October 2026. Yummly shut down in December 2024 and Mealime is discontinued as of October 21, 2026, so neither is in the table.
Quick comparison
| Feature | Pluck | ReciMe | Flavorish | Paprika | Mela | Pestle | Honeydew | Recipe Keeper | NYT Cooking | Deglaze | Allrecipes | Preplo | Osta | AnyList | Plan to Eat | Samsung Food | Bring! |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What the import reads | AI: video frames, on-screen text, audio, caption, photos | AI: caption, then audio; photos | AI: caption first; photos | No AI (Paprika 3 web clipper) | On-device ML on the video description; OCR | On-device AI on captions and websites | AI: audio transcript + caption; photos | No AI; web import + OCR scanning | None (its own recipes only) | AI: caption, audio, on-screen text (vendor claim) | MyRecipes app: method not stated | Transcript or description | Method not stated | No AI; recipe markup on websites | AI: caption; audio and on-screen text on Reels; photos | Recipe markup, ingredients only; photos | No AI; ingredient list from recipe markup |
| Social Media Import | TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, Facebook, incl. photo carousels | Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube, Pinterest | Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Facebook | None in Paprika 3 (Paprika 4 beta adds it) | YouTube, TikTok, Instagram | Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube | TikTok, YouTube, Instagram, Facebook (Plus) | Instagram, TikTok | None | Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Facebook, Pinterest | Instagram, TikTok (MyRecipes+) | YouTube, TikTok, Instagram | Instagram, TikTok | None documented | Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Facebook, Pinterest | Share a link; method not documented | None documented |
| From a cooking video | Watches frames, reads on-screen text, transcribes audio | Caption, then audio transcript | Mainly caption | None (Paprika 3) | Description only | Caption only | Audio transcript + caption | Caption (likely) | None | Audio + on-screen text + caption (vendor claim) | Not confirmed | Transcript or description | Not confirmed | None documented | Audio and on-screen text on Reels; caption elsewhere | Not confirmed | None documented |
| Photo / handwriting import | Yes: cards, cookbooks, handwriting, dish photos | Yes, incl. handwriting | Yes, incl. handwriting and dish photos | No (Paprika 4 beta adds scanning) | OCR scan | Recipe scanner | Yes (Plus) | OCR scan (photos, PDFs) | No | Cookbook photos, screenshots | Not confirmed | No | Yes (Premium) | None documented | Camera import | Yes (3 free scans, then Food+) | None documented |
| Platforms | iOS + Android (no web or desktop) | iOS + Android + Web | iOS + Android + Web | iOS + Android + Mac + Windows | iPhone + iPad + Mac | Apple only (iPhone, iPad, Mac, Watch) | iOS + Android | iOS + Android + Windows + Mac | iOS + Android + Web | iOS + Android + Web | Website; MyRecipes app on iOS + Android | iOS only (Android coming soon) | iOS + Android + Mac | iOS + Android; web, Mac, Watch with Complete | iOS + Android + Web | iOS + Android + Web | iOS + Android + Watch + Web (beta) |
| Meal planning | Weekly plan (free: current week); Fill my week on Plus and Pro | Weekly | Weekly | Yes | Via Apple Calendar | 14-day planner | Weekly or monthly, plus AI planner | Yes, incl. a random plan from your hints | None listed | Yes, with calendar sync | None listed (MyRecipes) | No (announced) | Simple meal plans | Calendar (Complete) | Drag-and-drop calendar, reusable menus | Weekly planner, plus tailored plans | None listed |
| Grocery list | Merged, sorted by aisle, shared with up to 5 people | By aisle or recipe, with delivery | Shared, by aisle | By aisle | Via Apple Reminders | Yes | By store section | Grouped by aisle | Yes, with Instacart | By aisle, with delivery | None listed (MyRecipes) | With price estimates | Shared lists | Shared with any number of people, by category | By store and category | By aisle or recipe, shared by invite | Shared, with a catalog, loyalty cards and offers |
| Cook mode | Step by step, step timers, ask about a step | Yes | Multi-recipe | Yes | Yes, with timers | Guided, with timers | Hands-free | Not confirmed | Yes (added May 2026) | Multi-recipe cooking sessions | Not confirmed | Guided | Not confirmed | Cooking View, timers | Step by step, timers | Smart Cook Mode | None listed |
| Search by ingredients you have | "What can I cook?" over your saved recipes (free), typed or from a fridge photo | Ingredient search filter | Search and filter by ingredient | Pantry inventory; search by ingredients | Not confirmed | Pantry of staples; ingredient search | Pantry and ingredient search | Search by ingredient | Recipe Box search by ingredient | Search by ingredient | Ingredient filter (MyRecipes) | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | None documented | Search by ingredient | Food List pantry; search by it with Food+ | None listed |
| AI Cooking Assistant | Chat per recipe, also inside cook mode (paid plans) | None found | No (recipe generator only) | No | No | No (Siri queries) | Yes, AI chat | No | No | No | Not confirmed | No | No | No | AI substitutions | Personalize with AI (Food+) | No |
| Import from other recipe apps | Paprika, Mela, Crouton, CopyMeThat, JSON-LD | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Paprika, Mela, Crouton | Not confirmed | Paprika, Pepperplate, BigOven | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Paprika | Paprika, Recipe Keeper, Copy Me That and others | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Household sharing | Grocery list, with up to 5 others | Shared collections | Shared grocery lists | No (Paprika 4 beta adds family accounts) | iCloud shared libraries | Households + SharePlay | Household of up to 6 | One shared account | No | Recipes, grocery list and meal plan | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Shared folders + grocery lists | Lists, recipes and meal plan | One shared login | Lists, meal plan, collections | Shared lists |
| Nutrition info | No (on the roadmap) | AI nutrition (Plus) | Yes | No (Paprika 4 beta adds it) | No | On TikTok imports | Calories + macros | Yes | Not confirmed | Not yet | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes (Premium) | Not confirmed | Yes, with daily totals | Macros, health score, goals | None listed |
| App languages | 6 (EN, DE, ES, FR, IT, SV) | 5 | English only | 17 | Not confirmed | 7 | 11 | 15 | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | English only | Not confirmed | 2 (EN, DE) | English only | 7 | 13 |
| Offline Support | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Subscribers only | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Free Tier | 3 extractions/mo, 10 recipes; meal plan, grocery list, What can I cook? | 5 imports/week | Unlimited web imports; 5 each of social, photo, text | None (paid app) | Free download; Mela+ to unlock | Yes, with a save cap | Yes (social and photo imports need Plus) | Yes, with a recipe cap | None (subscription) | 5 imports/week | MyRecipes: saves from websites | 1 extraction | Free with ads | Lists and sharing; 5 recipe web imports | None (14-day trial) | Most features; 3 photo scans, 2 tailored plans | Yes, with ads |
| Paid Tier | Light $2.99/mo · Plus $6.99/mo · Pro $11.99/mo | Plus about $39.99/yr (US) | $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr | Paprika 3: $4.99 once on mobile, $29.99 on Mac or Windows | Mela+ $6.99 once (iOS), $14.99 on Mac | Pro $2.99/mo, $24.99/yr or lifetime | Plus $6.99/mo or $39.99/yr | Pro $19.99 once (iOS) | About $5/mo or $40/yr (required) | Pro $49.99/yr | MyRecipes+ $6.99/mo or $39.99/yr | $9.99/mo, $49.99/yr or $129.99 lifetime | Premium $7.99/mo, from $49.99/yr | Complete $9.99/yr, or $14.99/yr household | $5.95/mo or $49/yr | Food+ $6.99/mo or $59.99/yr | Premium $1.99/mo or $8.99/yr |
App-by-app breakdown
Pluck Our pick (surprise!)
Yes, we're reviewing our own app. Where Pluck is strongest: it reads a cooking video's frames, on-screen text, audio and caption together, turns Instagram and TikTok photo carousels into one recipe, and reads handwritten cards. Once a recipe is saved you get a weekly meal plan, a merged grocery list sorted by aisle that you can share with up to 5 people, cook mode with step timers, a cooking log, and a free "What can I cook?" search over your own recipes that also works from a photo of your fridge. On Plus and Pro, Fill my week plans the week from the recipes you saved. Paid plans add an AI cooking assistant that knows the recipe and the step you're on, from $2.99/month. You can bring recipes over from Paprika, Mela, Crouton or CopyMeThat, and the app comes in 6 languages. Where it falls short: phone only (no web or desktop app), sharing covers the grocery list but not recipes or the meal plan, no nutrition info, no grocery delivery, and it's newer and smaller than most apps on this list.
ReciMe
One of the biggest apps in the category (its site claims 15M+ cooks). Imports from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube and Pinterest by reading the caption and then the video's audio, plus photos and handwritten recipes. Has a web app, a weekly meal plan and a grocery list with delivery. The free plan allows 5 imports a week; Plus is about $39.99/year in the US. Compared with Pluck it doesn't read what's shown on screen, and we found no AI cooking chat.
Read the full Pluck vs ReciMe comparison →Flavorish
An AI recipe app on iOS, Android and the web. Imports from Instagram, TikTok, YouTube and Facebook, mainly from the caption (if there's no recipe there, its AI writes a suggested one), and reads photos and handwritten recipes. Generous free tier with unlimited web imports; Premium is $4.99/month or $49.99/year. Has nutrition and shared grocery lists, but it's English only and has no AI cooking chat.
Read the full Pluck vs Flavorish comparison →Paprika
The long-standing recipe manager, with a web clipper, meal planner, aisle-sorted grocery list and real desktop apps for Mac and Windows. Paprika 3, the current release, has no AI, no social import and no photo scanning. It costs $4.99 once on iOS or Android and $29.99 each on Mac and Windows. Paprika 4 is in open beta with photo scanning, social import, nutrition and family accounts, and premium features will move to a subscription.
Read the full Pluck vs Paprika comparison →Mela
A beautifully designed recipe app for iPhone, iPad and Mac. Imports from YouTube, TikTok and Instagram by reading the video description with on-device machine learning, scans printed recipes, and uses Apple Calendar and Reminders for meal plans and groceries. Mela+ is $6.99 on iOS and $14.99 on Mac. No Android, no audio or on-screen reading, and no update since June 2025.
Read the full Pluck vs Mela comparison →Pestle
A polished Apple-only app (iPhone, iPad, Mac, Watch). Imports from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook and YouTube by reading the caption with Apple Intelligence, scans recipe photos, and has a guided cook mode, a 14-day meal planner, a shopping list and household sharing. Pro is $2.99/month or $24.99/year, with a lifetime option. It doesn't watch or listen to the video, and there's no Android app.
Read the full Pluck vs Pestle comparison →Honeydew
A strong all-rounder on iOS and Android. Imports TikTok, YouTube, Instagram Reels and Facebook Reels using the video's audio transcript, reads cookbook photos, and has an AI assistant chat, an AI meal planner, Pantry Mode, nutrition and household sharing for up to 6 people. Social and photo imports need Plus ($6.99/month or $39.99/year). Of all the apps here, it's the closest to Pluck. Pluck's differences: it also reads frames and on-screen text, handles photo carousels, and costs less to start.
Read the full Pluck vs Honeydew comparison →Recipe Keeper
A long-running organizer on iOS, Android, Windows and Mac. Imports from hundreds of recipe websites, scans photos and PDFs with OCR, and has added Instagram and TikTok import. Meal planner, aisle-grouped shopping lists, nutrition and family sharing. No AI. Pro is $19.99 once on iOS.
Read the full Pluck vs Recipe Keeper comparison →NYT Cooking
Professionally tested recipes from the New York Times for about $5/month or $40/year. Its Recipe Box holds NYT recipes only; it has a grocery list with Instacart and added Cook Mode in May 2026. No import from other websites, social media, video or photos, and no AI.
Read the full Pluck vs NYT Cooking comparison →Deglaze
A fast-moving app on iOS, Android and (since May 2026) the web. Imports from Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Facebook and Pinterest and says it combines the caption, audio and on-screen text, which is close to what Pluck does. Also a meal planner with calendar sync, an aisle-sorted grocery list with delivery, multi-recipe cooking sessions and household sharing. Free plan: 5 imports a week; Pro is $49.99/year. No AI cooking chat and no nutrition yet.
Read the full Pluck vs Deglaze comparison →Allrecipes
Allrecipes.com is still a huge recipe website, but its app was discontinued around 2023. Its owner, People Inc., launched the MyRecipes app in September 2026 on iOS and Android, with recipes from Allrecipes and its sister brands. The free tier saves from thousands of websites; MyRecipes+ ($6.99/month or $39.99/year) adds Instagram and TikTok saving. It's a good fit if you mostly cook from those brands. Pluck reads video and photos and works with any source.
Read the full Pluck vs Allrecipes comparison →Preplo
Winner of the RevenueCat Shipyard 2026 Creator Contest. An iPhone app that turns YouTube, TikTok and Instagram links into recipes from the transcript or description, with dietary tweaks, a guided cook mode, shopping lists with price estimates and cooking streaks. An Android version is announced. The free tier is a single extraction; then $9.99/month, $49.99/year or $129.99 lifetime. English only, no food blog, Facebook or photo support, no AI cooking assistant, and no update since March 2026.
Read the full Pluck vs Preplo comparison →Osta
A well-rated recipe saver (4.8 on iOS, 4.4 on Google Play) that imports from Instagram, TikTok and websites, with photo scanning, nutrition, shared folders and shared grocery lists. The free tier has ads; Premium is $7.99/month or from $49.99/year. No YouTube or Facebook import, and it doesn't say whether it reads the video itself.
Read the full Pluck vs Osta comparison →AnyList
A shared grocery list first, and one of the best: any number of people, live sync, Siri and Alexa, and online ordering in the US, all free. Recipes import from websites with standard recipe markup (5 on the free plan), and there is no video or photo import. AnyList Complete, at $9.99 a year or $14.99 for a household, adds the web, Mac and Watch apps and a meal planning calendar you fill yourself. In English and German.
Read the full Pluck vs AnyList comparison →Plan to Eat
A recipe organizer and drag-and-drop meal planner on iOS, Android and the web, with more than fifteen years behind it. It clips from websites, imports from Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Facebook and Pinterest (transcribing audio and reading on-screen text on Reels since April 2026), and calculates nutrition. There is no free plan: $5.95 a month or $49 a year after a 14-day trial. It doesn't plan the week for you, a household shares one login, and the app is in English only.
Read the full Pluck vs Plan to Eat comparison →Samsung Food
Whisk until 2023. A large free app on iOS, Android and the web with a recipe catalog, communities, nutrition, a pantry list, a weekly planner and shopping lists with grocery delivery. Saving from another website keeps the ingredients and a link: its help centre says instructions are not imported. Food+, at $6.99 a month or $59.99 a year, adds tailored weekly plans, AI recipe changes and unlimited photo scans.
Read the full Pluck vs Samsung Food comparison →Bring!
The shared shopping list app, biggest in Germany, Switzerland and Austria, in 13 languages and with a watch app. Live shared lists, a picture catalog, loyalty cards and store offers. A recipe is kept as an ingredient list and a link, and there is no meal plan or cook mode. Free with ads; Premium is $1.99 a month or $8.99 a year.
Read the full Pluck vs Bring! comparison →How we compared
We compared each app on the features that matter to home cooks who find recipes on social media, in cooking videos, on websites and in cookbooks. Facts come from each app's App Store and Google Play listing, help pages and release notes, checked in October 2026. Where the only source is the app's own marketing we say so, and where we couldn't confirm something the table says "Not confirmed". Our comparison covers:
- What the import reads - Whether an app reads only a post's caption, also transcribes the audio, or also looks at the video frames and on-screen text. This decides what happens when the recipe is only spoken or shown on screen.
- Platform coverage - Which operating systems and devices each app supports (iOS, Android, desktop, web).
- After you save - Meal planning, grocery lists, cook mode, searching by the ingredients you have, household sharing and nutrition.
- Pricing and value - Free tier limits, paid tier costs, and whether the pricing aligns with the feature set.
- Day-to-day usability - Offline access, app languages, importing from another recipe app, sharing, and organizing tools like tags and search.
Look, we made Pluck, so obviously we think it's great. But we've tried to keep this comparison honest, and the field has moved: several apps now import from social media and transcribe the audio. We call out where competitors do things better: Paprika and Recipe Keeper's desktop apps, the web apps from ReciMe, Flavorish and Deglaze, household sharing in Honeydew, Pestle and Deglaze, list sharing without a limit in AnyList and Bring!, and nutrition in Honeydew, Flavorish, Recipe Keeper, Plan to Eat and Samsung Food. Prices change often; check the store before you buy. If you think we got something wrong, tell us.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best recipe app in 2026?
It depends on where your recipes come from and what you do with them. If you save cooking videos from TikTok, Instagram, YouTube or Facebook, pick an app that reads more than the caption: Pluck reads frames, on-screen text and audio; Honeydew, ReciMe and Deglaze also transcribe the audio. If you want a desktop app, Paprika or Recipe Keeper. If you're all-Apple and mostly clip from food blogs, Mela or Pestle. If you share a kitchen, Pluck shares the grocery list with up to 5 other people; Honeydew, Pestle and Deglaze share recipes and meal plans across a household too.
Which recipe app can extract recipes from TikTok and Instagram videos?
Several now can, but they read different things. Mela and Pestle read the caption or description. ReciMe and Honeydew also transcribe the video's audio. Deglaze says it reads the caption, audio and on-screen text. Pluck watches the frames, reads on-screen text, transcribes the audio and reads the caption together, so a recipe that's only spoken or only shown on screen still comes through. Pluck also turns photo carousels into one recipe.
Are there any free recipe apps worth using?
Yes. Pluck's free plan gives you 3 extractions a month and 10 saved recipes, plus the meal plan for the current week, grocery lists and "What can I cook?". ReciMe and Deglaze allow 5 imports a week for free. Flavorish has unlimited web imports and a few social and photo imports. Osta is free with ads. Most paid apps also offer a free tier or trial.
Which recipe apps have meal planning and a grocery list?
Most of them now. Pluck, ReciMe, Flavorish, Honeydew, Deglaze, Pestle, Paprika and Recipe Keeper all have a meal planner and a grocery list; Mela uses Apple Calendar and Reminders. Pluck's list merges duplicate ingredients across the week, sorts them by aisle and can be shared with up to 5 other people. On Plus and Pro, Fill my week plans the week from your own recipes. ReciMe and Deglaze can send the list to grocery delivery, which Pluck can't.
Which app plans the week for you?
A few do. Pluck's Fill my week (Plus and Pro) plans the empty days from your own saved recipes, and you swap what you don't want before it is added. Honeydew has an AI meal planner and Samsung Food has tailored weekly plans. Recipe Keeper can make a random plan from your hints. Paprika, Mela, ReciMe, Plan to Eat and AnyList give you a calendar you fill yourself.
Which apps let two people share one grocery list?
Pluck (up to 5 other people, free), AnyList (any number of people, free), Bring!, Flavorish, Deglaze, Osta and Honeydew (a household of up to 6, on Plus) all sync one list between separate accounts. In Paprika 3, ReciMe, Recipe Keeper and Plan to Eat a household shares one login instead, and Mela relies on a shared Apple Reminders list.
Can I search my recipes by the ingredients I have?
In Pluck, yes: type what's in your fridge and "What can I cook?" ranks the recipes you've saved by what you can make now and what you're missing. It's free on every plan. Or take a photo of your fridge and Pluck spots the ingredients for you; if nothing you've saved fits, it can create a new recipe. The search runs over your own recipe box, not a recipe database.
Can I move my recipes from another app?
Pluck imports export files from Paprika, Mela, Crouton and CopyMeThat, plus any schema.org JSON-LD file. Pestle and Recipe Keeper also import from some other apps. Our guide to switching recipe apps, linked below, walks through each one.
Is it worth paying for a recipe app?
If you save more than a few recipes a month, usually yes. Pluck's Light plan ($2.99/month) gives you 10 extractions and the AI cooking assistant; Plus ($6.99/month) gives you 50 extractions and 100 assistant messages. Most AI competitors charge about $40-$50 a year. One-time apps like Paprika 3 ($4.99 on mobile) and Mela+ ($6.99 on iOS) are good value if you mainly clip from websites.
Detailed comparisons
Desktop classic vs AI video import
Pluck vs MelaApple-only vs iOS and Android
Pluck vs PestleCaption import vs full video AI
Pluck vs ReciMeCaption and audio vs frames too
Pluck vs FlavorishAI competitors compared
Pluck vs HoneydewTwo AI assistants compared
Pluck vs AllrecipesAllrecipes, MyRecipes and Pluck
Pluck vs PreploTranscript parsing vs full video AI
Pluck vs OstaAd-free AI vs ad-supported imports
Pluck vs Recipe KeeperOCR organizer vs AI extraction
Yummly alternativesYummly shut down in 2024: where to go now
Pluck vs NYT CookingSubscription content vs open extraction
Pluck vs DeglazeTwo multi-modal importers compared
Pluck vs AnyListShared list first vs recipes first
Pluck vs Plan to EatPlan by hand vs Fill my week
Pluck vs Samsung FoodA link to the recipe vs the whole recipe
Pluck vs Bring!Shopping list app vs recipes, plan and list
Mealime alternativesMealime closes on October 21, 2026: where to go
Also read: Best Recipe Apps Compared (Blog) · How to Switch Recipe Apps · Meal Plan from TikTok Recipes · What Can I Cook with What I Have? · Paprika vs Mela · Recipe App Market 2026
Best recipe app by category
Looking for the best recipe app for a specific need? We wrote dedicated guides for the most common use cases.
Top recipe apps available on Android
Best for iPhoneTop recipe apps for iOS and Apple devices
Best for TikTok RecipesWhich apps actually save TikTok recipes
Best for Meal PlanningMeal planners and grocery list features
Best for FamiliesSharing, cross-platform, and collaboration
Best AI Recipe AppAI extraction capabilities compared
Also: Best Free Recipe Apps in 2026 · What a Good Cook Mode Does
Ready to save recipes the smart way?
Pluck is available on iOS and Android. Save recipes from cooking videos, posts and photos, then plan, shop and cook from them.
Free tier included. No credit card required. Or try our free web recipe extractor - no download needed.