Looking for the Allrecipes app? Here's what changed
Allrecipes discontinued its app around 2023; allrecipes.com is still a website, and the only app under the name is a magazine reader. In September 2026 its owner, People Inc., launched MyRecipes for iOS and Android: 100,000+ recipes from Allrecipes and its sister brands, free saving from thousands of websites, and Instagram and TikTok saving in MyRecipes+. Here's how that compares with Pluck, a recipe box built to save from anywhere.
Feature comparison
| Feature | Pluck | Allrecipes |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Personal recipe box app | allrecipes.com (website); MyRecipes app from the same owner |
| Recipe catalog to browse | No | Yes (100,000+ recipes in MyRecipes) |
| Save from other websites | Yes (AI extraction from any URL) | Yes (MyRecipes, free) |
| Instagram, TikTok | Yes (reads the video) | Yes (MyRecipes+; method not stated) |
| YouTube, Facebook | Yes (reads the video) | Not mentioned at launch |
| Video extraction method | Frames, on-screen text, audio and caption | Not stated |
| Photo / cookbook / handwriting | Yes (AI vision) | Not mentioned at launch |
| AI cooking assistant | Yes, in cook mode (paid plans) | Not mentioned at launch |
| Meal plan and grocery list | Yes (Fill my week on Plus and Pro; list shared with up to 5 people) | None listed |
| Platforms | iOS, Android | Web (allrecipes.com); iOS, Android (MyRecipes) |
| Price | Free; paid plans from $2.99/mo | MyRecipes free; MyRecipes+ $6.99/mo or $39.99/yr |
Where Allrecipes falls short
There's no Allrecipes app any more
The Allrecipes recipe app was discontinued around 2023. The website still works in a browser, but saving recipes in an app now means MyRecipes or another recipe app.
Social saving costs $6.99 a month in MyRecipes
MyRecipes saves from websites for free, but Instagram and TikTok saving is part of MyRecipes+ ($6.99/month or $39.99/year). People Inc. hasn't said whether it reads the video or only the caption, and YouTube and Facebook weren't mentioned at launch.
Built around one publisher's catalog
MyRecipes' strength is its 100,000+ recipes from Allrecipes and its sister brands. If most of what you cook comes from creators, family recipe cards and blogs, the catalog matters less than how well the app saves everything else.
What Pluck does differently
Reads cooking videos, not just links
Pluck watches the frames, reads on-screen text, listens to the narration and reads the caption on TikTok, Instagram, YouTube and Facebook, so spoken and on-screen recipes come through.
Photos and handwriting
Snap a cookbook page or a handwritten card and Pluck's AI vision turns it into a structured, editable recipe.
Lower price for social saving
Pluck's free plan includes video and photo extraction (3 a month), and paid plans start at $2.99/month with the AI cooking assistant included.
Plan, shop and cook
A weekly meal plan that Fill my week can fill from your own recipes (Plus and Pro), an aisle-sorted grocery list you can share with up to 5 people, cook mode with step timers, and "What can I cook?" to find recipes in your recipe box from the ingredients you have or a photo of your fridge.
Frequently asked questions
Is there still an Allrecipes app?
Not a recipe app. Allrecipes discontinued its app around 2023, and the app now carrying the name is Allrecipes Magazine, a magazine reader. allrecipes.com still works in a browser. In September 2026, Allrecipes' owner People Inc. launched the MyRecipes app with recipes from Allrecipes and its sister brands.
Can I save recipes from Instagram or TikTok with MyRecipes?
Yes, with MyRecipes+ ($6.99/month or $39.99/year). The free MyRecipes app saves from thousands of websites. In Pluck, Instagram, TikTok, YouTube and Facebook extraction is on every plan, including free (3 extractions a month).
What makes Pluck different from MyRecipes?
MyRecipes starts from a big catalog of publisher recipes and lets you save others. Pluck starts from what you find: it reads cooking videos and photos with AI, and adds an AI cooking assistant. If you want a catalog to browse, MyRecipes has one and Pluck doesn't.
Can Pluck save recipes from allrecipes.com?
Yes. Share or paste an allrecipes.com link and Pluck extracts the recipe into your recipe box as a clean, editable copy.
Does MyRecipes have an AI cooking assistant?
None was mentioned at launch. Pluck's AI cooking assistant, on paid plans from $2.99/month, answers questions about the recipe you're cooking: substitutions, scaling, unit conversion and technique.
Read our comparison of the best recipe apps in 2026.
Related reading: Best Recipe Apps 2026, Yummly shut down: what to use instead, Pluck vs NYT Cooking, and Pluck vs Recipe Keeper.
Ready for a recipe app that saves from anywhere?
Available on iOS and Android. Download Pluck free today.
Pluck extracts recipes from social media, videos, photos and any URL. See how the AI extraction works.
Try our free web recipe extractor - no app needed.