Skip to content

Pluck vs Inspo - Two AI Recipe Apps That Handle Video Differently

Pluck Team Updated October 12, 2026 7 min read
comparisons inspo recipe apps ai video

Inspo is one of a growing group of recipe apps built around social media. It saves recipes from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook and any website you share from Safari, uses AI to extract and organize them, and adds a weekly meal planner, an automatic grocery list, a cook mode and macros.

Pluck covers much of the same ground, so the interesting question in Pluck vs Inspo isn’t which platforms each app lists. It’s what each app does with a video once you share it, and what you get around the recipe. We’ve corrected this post since it was first published: Inspo’s prices, its photo import and its planning features were all wrong or missing in the earlier version.

Where Inspo wins

  • Built for social saving. Inspo supports Instagram, TikTok, Facebook and Safari out of the box, and saving from the share sheet is quick: you’re in Instagram, tap Share, tap Inspo.
  • AI recipe generation. Describe what you’d like to cook and Inspo writes a recipe. Pluck only creates a recipe from the ingredients you have, when nothing you’ve saved fits.
  • AI categorization. Inspo sorts your saved recipes into categories automatically. In Pluck you organize with tags and your own groups.
  • Planning and nutrition. A weekly meal planner, an automatic grocery list, a cook mode, and macros.
  • Photo, camera and text import on Premium, so screenshots and recipe photos can go in too.

If you mostly save from Instagram and TikTok, want the app to file things for you, and like AI-generated ideas, Inspo is a reasonable fit.

Where Pluck pulls ahead

What happens to the video

Pluck’s AI reads the whole video. When you share a cooking video, it:

  1. Watches the frames, catching on-screen ingredient lists, amounts and text overlays
  2. Transcribes the audio, capturing spoken quantities and steps
  3. Reads the caption and description
  4. Combines them into one recipe with a confidence score, which you review and edit before saving

Inspo’s App Store listing describes AI extraction but doesn’t say whether it reads the caption, the audio or the frames, and we couldn’t verify it. If you’re deciding between the two, the fairest test is your own: pick a TikTok or Instagram Reel where the creator says the amounts out loud and the caption just says “the marinade that changed everything”, share it to both apps, and compare what comes back.

YouTube

Pluck extracts recipes from YouTube videos and Shorts, watching and listening to them. YouTube isn’t among the platforms Inspo lists; it lists any website shared from Safari, and we couldn’t verify how that handles a YouTube video.

Photo carousels and handwriting

Pluck reads Instagram and TikTok photo carousels as one recipe, slide by slide, and handles handwritten family recipes, cookbook pages and screenshots on every plan, including free. Inspo’s photo import requires Premium.

An AI cooking assistant inside cook mode

Both apps have a cook mode. Pluck’s adds an AI cooking assistant (on the Light, Plus and Pro plans) that knows the recipe and the step you’re on. Tap “Ask about this step” and ask:

  • “I’m out of coconut milk, what can I substitute?”
  • “How do I know when the caramel is done?”
  • “I’m making this for 8 instead of 4, what changes?”

It can also convert units and translate a recipe, and you can apply changes to the saved recipe. We didn’t find a chat assistant in Inspo. Our guide to recipe apps with a cook mode covers what else to look for.

Searching your own recipes by ingredient

Both apps search your saved recipes by ingredient. Pluck’s “What can I cook?” ranks them by what you can make now and what you’re missing, free on every plan, and pantry scan reads the ingredients from a photo of your fridge (1 scan a month on the free plan, more on paid plans). Inspo lists no pantry or fridge-photo feature. See what can I cook with what I have.

Planning the week differs in the same way. Inspo’s weekly calendar, added in March 2026, is filled by hand, and its AI writes single recipes. On Plus and Pro, Pluck’s Fill my week fills the empty days from your own saved recipes. The grocery list that follows can be shared with up to 5 other people; Inspo’s App Store listing doesn’t say whether its list can be shared.

Platforms and languages

Pluck is on iOS and Android, in six languages: English, German, Spanish, French, Italian and Swedish. Inspo’s App Store listing is English only. We based this comparison on that listing, so if you need Inspo on Android, check its availability on Google Play first.

Feature comparison

FeaturePluckInspo
Instagram, TikTok, FacebookYesYes
YouTubeYes (watches and listens)Not listed
Video methodFrames, audio, on-screen text, captionNot stated
Photo carouselsYes, as one recipeNot verified
Photo / camera importYes, every planYes (Premium)
Web recipe importAI extractionYes (Safari or any website)
AI cooking assistantYes, inside cook mode (paid plans)No chat assistant found
AI recipe generationOnly from the ingredients you haveYes
OrganizationTags and your own groupsAI categorization
Cook modeYes, with step timersYes
Meal planningYes (weekly)Yes (weekly, filled by hand)
Plans the week for youFill my week, from your own recipes (Plus and Pro)No (its AI writes single recipes)
Grocery listYes, merged, sorted by aisle, shared with up to 5 peopleYes (automatic; sharing not stated)
Ingredient search”What can I cook?” (free), also from a fridge photoYes (saved recipes)
NutritionNoYes (macros)
Import from other appsPaprika, Mela, Crouton, CopyMeThat, JSON-LDNot verified
App languages6English
Free plan3 extractions/mo, 10 recipesYes, with a save cap
Paid priceFrom $2.99/mo; Plus $6.99/mo; Pro $11.99/moPremium in-app purchases of $14.99, $29.99 and $49.99

Inspo’s App Store listing shows those three Premium prices without saying which billing period each one covers, so compare them in the app before you subscribe.

Who should choose what

Choose Inspo if:

  • You save mainly from TikTok and Instagram and want a quick, simple workflow
  • You like AI-generated recipe ideas and automatic categories
  • You want macros alongside your meal plan
  • You don’t need YouTube or a cooking assistant

Choose Pluck if:

  • You want the recipe from the video itself, including spoken amounts and on-screen text
  • You save from YouTube, or save photo carousels
  • You want photo and handwriting extraction on the free plan
  • You’d use an assistant that knows which step you’re cooking
  • You want the week planned from your own recipes, or a grocery list your household shares
  • You’re moving from Paprika, Mela, Crouton or CopyMeThat and want to import your collection

Both apps start from the right place: recipes live on social media now. Inspo leans into organizing and inspiration; Pluck leans into getting the whole recipe out of the video and helping you cook it.

For more comparisons, see Pluck vs Flavorish and Pluck vs ReciMe, or browse the full recipe app comparison hub. Our best recipe app for TikTok guide compares how each app handles TikTok, and how Pluck works explains the extraction.


Pluck is available on iOS and Android. Get it on Google Play. Also on iOS. Visit our roadmap to help us prioritize what gets built next.

P

Pluck Team

We're a small team of home cooks and engineers building the recipe app we always wanted. We write about recipe saving, AI extraction, and cooking smarter.

Learn more about us

Ready to save your first recipe?

Available on iOS and Android. Download Pluck free today.

Want to help shape Pluck? Suggest a feature - we read every single one.